h1

Introducing FLAWLESS

October 11, 2010

By Lisa Bridge

I cannot tell you how excited I am that you can now experience Ben Bridge’s first fragrance:  FLAWLESS.  This project has been my baby over the last year, so I’m excited for it to be available in stores!

Having grown up in the retail business, I love the whole retail experience.  Some of my friends give me a hard time for veering towards jewelry stores whenever we walk by one.  In July of 2009, I walked in to a couple of different stores that made me think about the experience in a Ben Bridge store and how we could make it better.

One store I walked into in Beverly Hills had a distinctly good smell.  It was very light, but it created an elegant atmosphere in the store.  The other was a beautiful blouse store in Boston.  Each blouse had a sachet attached, and before I tried on anything, the sales associate sprayed each item with a scent.  The romantic scent made the experience that much better; I was enveloped in the luxury of the store.

I began to think about what our stores smell like, and what scent people associate with Ben Bridge.  We didn’t have a uniform scent.  We build gorgeous stores, with beautiful jewelry, we have candy and coffee available, good lighting for seeing diamonds, but there wasn’t a consistent smell.

Jewelry and fragrance are both inextricably linked to memories and emotion.  I will never forget receiving a diamond pendant for my 18th birthday, or the way my mom smelled growing up.  What if someone was able to wear their Ben Bridge Signature Diamond ring with their Ben Bridge perfume?  If every time they put on the perfume, they thought of the special moment they were given a piece of jewelry?  How would this enhance the experience in our stores?  Could we make giving or receiving a gift from Ben Bridge more memorable?

Excited about embarking on this journey, we began to develop this signature fragrance with the help of a number of experts.  Our fragrance designer, Raymond Matts, came to us after creating such iconic scents as Clinique Happy and Elizabeth Taylor White Diamonds.  Although we had spoken and I had sent him a packet of information about the company and who we are, there isn’t anything quite like walking in to one of our stores and meeting our associates.  So he flew out to Seattle to get to know Ben Bridge.

While in Seattle, Raymond talked with a number of people in the office to understand BB and how the fragrance would fit in to the company.  He also brought along a selection of fragrances to get reactions.  As fragrance is so personal, he wanted to understand general likes and dislikes. Later in the day, Raymond visited a couple of Ben Bridge stores.  In the morning he heard about who we are in theory, but in the afternoon he saw it in action.  I couldn’t wait to see how all of the information we shared would turn in to a fragrance.

Cheers!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

